Vasárnap/Sunday, 2017 Jún 25, 9:43:00
Az Ön belépési neve Guest | Csoport "Vendégek"Üdvözöllek Guest

Fordító / Translator
A honlap menüje
Belépési név:
Mini chat

Jelen vannak:
Fazék , DomiTibi , hocaapu

Ma itt jártak:
Levin, galamb, dobitibi, Feribá, pepofec, Georgie, weawerchuby, Fazék, fodori, DArdanella, zozo54, vpetti, susdomes, DomiTibi, topo, stevehu03, gykrantz, roarrr, ama55, taddeo, Jamby, Laosz, hocaapu, MZROCK, Joski, jakja, turulbird, lui59, larryz, stuckinthe70s, Rafiki, [Teljes lista]
free counters Webutation
Nyitólap » 2016 » Október/October » 15 » The Angels - My Boyfriend's Back (1963) Smash Rec.
The Angels - My Boyfriend's Back (1963) Smash Rec.

320 kb/s
Tracklist & download links in comments
Related Posts with Thumbnails
Kategória: Pop | Megtekintések száma: 275 | Hozzáadta: dali300
Hozzászólások összesen: 1
The group originated in New Jersey as the Starlets which consisted of sisters, Barbara "Bibs" and Phyllis "Jiggs" Allbut, Bernadette Carroll, and Lynda Malzone. They had some minor local hits and wound up doing back-up work in the studio. When Lynda Malzone left, Linda Jankowski (later Jansen) became the new lead singer. Their manager, Tom DeCillis, turned his focus to Bernadette Carroll and dropped the rest of the group. Carroll would find solo success in 1963 with her Laurie single "Party Girl." After a failed attempt at a record deal with producer Gerry Granahan, the Allbut sisters turned their focus to education. Phyllis Allbut was in teacher's college at the time and Barbara Allbut was accepted into the Juilliard School for her abilities as a musical arranger. Soon Granahan, who had previously rejected the group, suddenly saw hit potential in the song they had performed for him in their audition, a version of "Till," and wanted them to record it in the studio. "Till" became their first single under their new name, the Angels, and also their first hit (#14 US) released by Granahan's Caprice label in 1961. The song was followed up with a less-successful single, "Cry Baby Cry." The Angels had one album on Caprice, titled ...And the Angels Sing in 1962.

Jansen left the group in late 1962 to go solo and was replaced by Peggy Santiglia, formerly of The Delicates (with Denise Ferri and Arleen Lanzotti). Santiglia had sung jingles for WINS Radio, appeared on Broadway, and had songwriting experience. In 1963, the trio signed to Mercury Records' subsidiary label Smash Records and began working with the Feldman-Goldstein-Gottehrer songwriting team, who wrote "My Boyfriend's Back". The Angels' performance (with Santiglia on lead) was originally intended as a demo for The Shirelles' consideration, but the music publishers chose instead to release it as it stood. The song was a major hit, reaching number one on the Billboard Hot 100, but no follow-up of comparable success was released. "My Boyfriend's Back" sold over one million copies, and was awarded a gold disc.

In 2005, the Angels were inducted in the Vocal Group Hall of Fame.


01. My Boyfriend's Back
02. Someday My Prince Will Come
03. Has Anybody Seen My Boyfriend 
04. Till 
05. The Night Has A Thousand Eyes 
06. Why Don't The Boy Leave Me Alone 
07. He's So Fine (Ronny Mack) 
08. Thank You And Good Night 
09. The Hurdy-Gurdy Man 
10. World Without Love 
11. Love Me Now 
12. The Guy With The Black Eye 


- Peggy Santiglia (Margaret Santiglia) - lead vocals
- Barbara "Bibs" Allbut - vocals
- Phyllis "Jiggs" Allbut - vocals
- Orchestra
- Alan Lorber, LeRoy Glover - arrangers


password : psalm69

Hozzászólásokat csak regisztrált felhasználók írhatnak.
[ Regisztráció | Belépés ]